Rohr Calls Up Osimhen In 23 Man Squad For South Africa & Uganda Clash [SEE FULL LIST]

Sporting Charleroi striker Victor Osimhen has been given a chance to replicate his form, joining potential debutants and returning players to make the Super Eagles’ trip as Gernot Rohr and his team prepare for next month’s crunch tie.

In-form Arsenal midfielder Alex Iwobi and striker Odion Ighalo lead Nigeria’s 23-man squad for their African Cup of Nations qualifiers against South Africa and Uganda friendly, with Villarreal starlet Samuel Chukwueze getting his maiden invite.

SUSPENDED: Ndidi is absent after earning a yellow card in the last game against Libya
Al Nasr forward Ahmed Musa will carry on with captain duty as John Obi Mikel is still absent. Also, Ogenyi Onazi and Shehu Abdullahi are missing from the list. The duo returned to their club from the last international break with injuries with Mikel Agu returning to the mix – to prosecute November 17 and 20 games.

Meanwhile, joining former U17 World Cup winner, Chukwueze for a potential debut is FC IfeanyiUbah defender Olamilekan Adeleye while Henry Onyekuru and Chidozie Awaziem have been dropped to the standby list which includes three Nigeria Professional Football League stars.

Nigeria sit top of Group E with nine points from four games while Stuart Baxter’s side are second in the group, trailing by two points.

The Super Eagles will look to get a victory over Bafana Bafana on, having lost the first leg 2-0 in Uyo.

The game is billed for November 17 at the FNB Stadium and three days later, the three-time African champions entertain the Cranes of Uganda at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba.

Full list:
Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Daniel Akpeyi, Francis Uzoho

Defenders: William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun, Kenneth Omeruo, Brian Idowu, Olamilekan Adeleye, Semi Ajayi, Jamilu Collins, Ola Aina.

Midfielders: John Ogu, Mikel Agu, Oghenekaro Etebo.

Forwards: Odion Ighalo, Ahmed Musa, Victor Osimhen, Alex Iwobi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Samuel Kalu, Isaac Success, Moses Simon, Samuel Chukwueze.

Standby: Henry Onyekuru, Chidozie Awaziem, Sunday Adetunji, Nyima Nwagua, Junior Lokosa.

Source: wolexis

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: